Name of the University: Ryukoku University
Year of the Establishment: 1639
Location (City, Prefecture):
Kyoto City, Kyoto Prefecture
Number of Students:
University’s Website:

List of Faculties and Graduate Schools in the University:


Faculty of Letters
Faculty of Economics
Faculty of Business Administration
Faculty of Law
Faculty of Policy Science
Faculty of International Studies
Faculty of Advanced Science and Technology
Faculty of Sociology
Faculty of Agriculture

Graduate Schools:
Graduate School of Letters
Graduate School of Economics
Graduate School of Business Administration
Graduate School of Law
Graduate School of Policy Science
Graduate School of Intercultural Communication
Graduate School of Science and Technology
Graduate School of Sociology
Graduate School of Agriculture
Graduate School of Practical Shin-Buddhist Studies
Junior College

Partner University in Uzbekistan: N/A

University Overview

Ryukoku University is one of the oldest higher education institutions in Japan. Its history spans a period of more than 380 years, beginning with the opening of the “Gakuryo” educational facility at Nishi Hongwanji Temple in 1639. Initially established as a seminary for the promotion of research and Shin Buddhist education, Ryukoku University now endeavors to infuse its Founding Spirit in all research and educational activities, and received the rank of “Top Buddhist University in the World” by uniRank in 2018 and 2019. With nine Faculties, ten Graduate Schools, and a Junior College, Ryukoku University has approximately 20,000 students enrolled on three campuses (two in Kyoto and one in Shiga Prefecture). Easily accessible by public transportation, students can enjoy their studies in the “cultural heart” of the Japanese archipelago.

Approximately 500 students from countries throughout the world enroll in studies at Ryukoku University each year. Four different courses are offered for International Students: (1) the Japanese Culture and Language Program (JCLP) in which studies are focused on Japanese language, culture, and society; (2) Undergraduate Programs; (3) Graduate Programs; and (4) the Japanese Experience Program in Kyoto (JEP Kyoto), a one semester or one year program offered exclusively to Exchange Students from our Partner Universities, through which our Exchange Students may also register for regular courses if they meet the requirements for the class of their choice. At present, Ryukoku University has Student Exchange Agreements with 116 Institutions in 34 countries/regions.